Peter Griffith: Diving Into Carbon Cycle Science

NASA

• Publishers

5 min read

Peter Griffith: Diving Into Carbon Cycle Science

Peter Griffith, a man with short gray hair, smiles and poses for an official portrait. He wears a black collared shirt with the NASA logo on his left chest. A huge model of Earth is visible out of focus behind him in a large, sunlit room.
Dr. Peter Griffith is the director of NASA’s Carbon Cycle and Ecosystems Office. “As a scientist, I started off in the water and then gradually moved to on top of the water, and then ultimately went up into the air and into space, at least with the instrument eyes that we have on the world,” he said. “In some respects, I was a carbon cycle scientist since before it was cool.”
NASA / Angeles Miron

Name: Peter Griffith

Title: Director, NASA Carbon Cycle and Ecosystems Office

Organization: Biospheric Sciences Laboratory, Code 618

What’s your official role at Goddard?

I lead NASA’s Carbon Cycle and Ecosystems Office, which is in the Biospheric Sciences Laboratory at Goddard. We answer to NASA Headquarters, we support the Carbon Cycle and Ecosystems Focus area, and we support different elements of the funded program that comes out of that. To a great extent, we support the terrestrial ecology program, but also ocean biology and biogeochemistry, biodiversity, the Carbon Monitoring System, and some application work.

A lot of our work consists of supporting field campaigns. These are activities where dozens and sometimes hundreds of investigators go out into amazing parts of the world and do the work on the ground – or on the water – to have an up-close view of what’s happening in critical parts of the planet and couple that fine-scale information with observations from remote sensing instruments on aircraft and ultimately on satellites.

What do you do on a day-to-day basis?